Herman B Wells Professorship

Herman B Wells Professorship

Recognizing extraordinary scholarship and teaching

The Herman B Wells Professorship was endowed by the IU Bloomington classes of 1948 and 1950 to honor Herman B Wells, Indiana University’s 11th president from 1937 until he retired in 1962 and university chancellor from 1962 until his death in 2000.

The award recognizes faculty on the Bloomington campus who embrace deep concern for the well-being of students and devotion to diversity, inclusion, and academic excellence, reflecting the values of Herman B Wells. Chosen faculty are also extraordinary scholars and teachers who have been inspirational instructors of undergraduate students.


Full-time, full professors on the IU Bloomington campus are eligible for nomination.