

DEPARTMENTAL EXECUTIVE OFFICER PROGRAM

Indiana University Bloomington has selected five department chairs to serve as 2023-24 program participants for the <u>Departmental Executive Officer Program</u> (DEO), a leadership program offered through the Big 10 Academic Alliance. Each year approximately 65 department heads and chairs from Big Ten Academic Alliance universities come together for a unique leadership development seminar. Topics at this three-day event range from conflict resolution and time management to faculty development, performance reviews, and group problem-solving.

The program is sponsored by the Big 10 Academic Alliance (formerly the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, or CIC), comprised of the 14 universities in the Big Ten conference and the University of Chicago. All participants selected from the member universities will participate in three seminars hosted by Big 10 Academic Alliance universities and will take part in campus-based meetings and programs with administrative leaders.

"At IU Bloomington we know that our academic leaders at all levels help drive innovation, student success and community engagement," said Carrie Docherty, vice provost for faculty and academic affairs. "Departmental Executive Officer Program offers the chance for our faculty to utilize the resources offered by the Big 10 Academic Alliance in order to help develop the leadership skills necessary to maintain a community of excellent scholars and teachers."

IU Bloomington Departmental Executive Officer (DEO) Program Recipients for 2023-24 are:

- Tessa Bent, Provost Professor and chair for the Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
- Natalie Hipple, Professor and chair of the Department of Criminal Justice
- Douglas Landsittel, Professor and chair for the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics in the School of Public Health-Bloomington
- Steven Tait, Professor and chair in the Department of Chemistry
- Demondrae Thurman, professor of music in euphonium and chair of the Brass Department



Tessa Bent

Tessa Bent is a Provost Professor at Indiana University in the Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences, director of the Speech Perception Laboratory, and Department Chair. She is also an Adjunct Professor in the Linguistics Department and an Affiliate Member for the Cognitive Science Program. She studies children's and adults' perception and representation of speech, focusing on regional and nonnative accents. She is also conducting research on communication between healthcare providers and aging patients. Her research is currently supported by grants from the National Science Foundation and the James S. McDonnell Foundation. She earned her B.A. from Millersville University and her Ph.D. from Northwestern University. She takes an active learning approach within her undergraduate courses in phonetics, sociophonetics, and speech perception. She has been awarded the Trustees Teaching Award twice as well as the Morley Award for Outstanding Teaching in the ASURE Program. She is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America.



Natalie Hipple

Natalie Hipple is Professor and Chair in the Department of Criminal Justice at Indiana University. She studies the collaborative methods used by law enforcement agencies to identify and reduce crime and disorder especially as they relate to gun violence and homelessness. Her other research interests include gun-involved youth, incident reviews, higher education policing, and evaluation of criminal justice programs. For the last 20 years, she has worked extensively with a variety of law enforcement agencies in Indiana, the Midwest, and across the United States. Dr. Hipple writes and speaks about nonfatal shootings regularly, focusing on making her work available to practitioners. Her work is currently funded by the National Institute of Justice and the Bureau of Justice Assistance.



Douglas Landsittel

Doug Landsittel (Ph.D. in Biostatistics, 1997, University of Pittsburgh) is professor and chair of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and is the James A. Caplin Chair in Evidence-Based Public Health. His past positions include being an Acting Branch Chief and Team Leader, and an injury epidemiologist and senior statistician for CDC/NIOSH, and an associate director for several biostatistics units at the University of Pittsburgh. He was also the Director of Biostatistics for the Starzl Transplant Institute and has published approximately 170 papers on biomarker studies and prognostic models, intervention research, comparative effectiveness and patient-centered outcomes research, and causal inference with observational data. He also serves as the Director of the Society for Critical Medicine Discovery Network Data Coordinating Center and leads the data coordinating center for a 20-year study of polycystic kidney disease, and the Statistical Analysis Center for a large industry partner. He has been the PI for funding from AHRQ and PCORI. He is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association and was the Chair of the Safety and Occupational Health Study Section.



Steven Tait

Steven Tait is the Herman T. Briscoe Professor of Chemistry, Chair of the Department of Chemistry, Adjunct Professor of Physics, and Associate Director of the Electron Microscopy Center at Indiana University. He leads a research group of graduate students, undergraduate students, and postdocs in studies of surface chemistry, catalysis, and nanoscience. Prof. Tait is known internationally for his work in studies of molecular self-assembly at surfaces and in the development of novel catalysts to address global energy challenges. Prof. Tait teaches courses in general chemistry, physical chemistry, and surface chemistry and was recognized with the 2022 IU James P. Holland and Morley Award for Exemplary Teaching and Service. Prof. Tait serves on regional and national committees for the American Chemical Society and is a fellow of the American Vacuum Society. He obtained a BS in Honors Physics and University Honors from Brigham Young University and MS and PhD degrees in Physics at the University of Washington, which included fellowship research at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. He was an Alexander von Humboldt postdoctoral fellow, Max Planck fellow, and group leader at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart, Germany. He has held visiting appointments at the University of Warwick and the University of Science and Technology of China.



Demondrae Thurman

Known worldwide for his signature sound and overt musicality, Demondrae Thurman has brought his remarkable skills to light as a soloist, educator, chamber musician, and conductor. As a frequently invited guest at many of the world's most noted music schools, festivals, and conferences for low brass instruments, his voice-like timbre reaches everyone in his audience. Demondrae has performed on euphonium and/or trombone with the prestigious ensembles such as the Brass Band of Battle Creek, New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, Youngblood Brass Band, and the Sotto Voce Quartet. His research focuses on topics including computer vision, machine learning, data mining and image processing. Currently, Dr. Thurman is Professor of Music and Chair of the Brass Department at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. The position was created for him to utilize his specific skills and expertise in euphonium and brass chamber music. Demondrae Thurman is a Miraphone Performing Artist and the Miraphone 5050 Ambassador Edition euphonium which was designed specifically for him. He also plays the custom Demondrae model mouthpiece manufactured by Warburton Music Products and is a Shires Trombone Performing Artist.