Herman B Wells Endowed Professorship

This award was endowed by the IU Bloomington Classes of 1948 and 1950 to honor Herman B Wells, who served as Indiana University’s 11th president from 1937 until he retired in 1962 and as university chancellor from 1962 until his death in 2000. It recognizes faculty on the Bloomington campus who embrace the deep concern for the wellbeing of students and devotion to diversity, inclusion and academic excellence that reflect the values of Herman B Wells.  Chosen faculty are also extraordinary scholars who have been inspirational instructors of undergraduate students.


Arthur Liou, School of Art and Design
Dina Okamoto, Sociology
Radhika Parameswaran, Media

Kosali Simon, Public & Environmental Affairs

Abhijit Basu, Geological Sciences

Myrtle Scott, Education